Travel Find Thursday – Lowell Observatory – Flagstaff, Arizona

The Lowell Observatory is an astronomical observatory built in 1894 on a hill overlooking Flagstaff, Arizona, United States. The Lowell Observatory is among the oldest observatories in the United States, and was designated a National Historic Landmark in 1965.

It was founded by astronomer Percival Lowell. All of its trustees have been members of the Lowell family.

This observatory is famous as the place the Pluto was discovered by Clyde Tombaugh.

th1 th2 th3 th4 th5 th6 th7From a viewpoint at the top of the hill you can get a great view of the town of Flagstaff, Arizona.

th8

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Outlier Babe says:

    Iris! I disappeared, and you came back! Where were you?! How are you?! I’m so glad you’re back : )
    🙂

    1. I. Greenwald says:

      Hi Babe. Yes, I noticed that you disappeared. I’m good, just needed 6 months off. How are you Are you OK?

      1. Outlier Babe says:

        I’m basically okay, Iris, thank you. Just over-challenged by circumstances and still in need of withdrawal to deal with them. Are YOU okay?

      2. I. Greenwald says:

        I’m good now. I was spending 10 hours a day on the laptop. Eating too much, sent my diabetes out of control. Then I went into exercise mode and went into extreme knee pain. Doc sent me to orthopedic doc where I found out I had bone spurs under my arthritic kneecaps. Two knees, 3 bone spurs. 3 months of physical therapy twice a week. Blah blah blah etc. Just didn’t want to deal with blogging. I started coming back slowly in August.

      3. Outlier Babe says:

        I get it. I was chained to the laptop, and when I do return to WP, will need to find a way to strike a balance. Have had three surgeries during my absence (one plus two re-dos of the one, thanks to lupus) and much continued bad luck magnetism–including more shite from the evil AT&T. Blogging was/is too much besides.

        Diabetes is no joke, and bone spurs–OUCH. Very glad you are doing better, Iris!

  2. Nice photos. Hope you are feeling better

Leave a Reply

