Friday Fictioneers: Family Dinner

Family Dinner

Photo: Copyright Jan Wayne Fields

On the outside he looked calm, collected. On the inside he felt like a swarm of bees. He had grown up in an orphanage. He met his true love in college. He married her the day after graduation. And today, exactly one week later, he would be meeting her parents. Complete strangers that he would call Mom and Dad. He would finally be part of a family. Today, in 30 minutes, he would be sitting down to his very first family dinner. He only looked calm. On the inside he was jumping for joy.

 

11 Comments Add yours

  1. la_lasciata says:

    Spellchecker, Irene ! – we don’t want to reduce the quality, after all …

    1. la_lasciata says:

      Shit ! – I mean Iris, of course !!!! Apologies …

      1. I. Greenwald says:

        not to worry….I’ve been called Irene so many times that it doesn’t even phase me.

        So tell me, my dear…..which word is spelled wrong?

      2. la_lasciata says:

        The one you’ve since corrected. [grin]

      3. I. Greenwald says:

        yes…no kidding. I always read it as swarm.

      4. la_lasciata says:

        We’re all hopeless, really, at finding mistakes in our own text – you ain’t no exception ! 🙂

  2. Yvonne says:

    It took me a while, but I spotted the test you left for us to find the word that needs correcting! 🙂 “Swarm” of bees.

    I like this vignette. Now, I want to know more about what happens.

  3. Yvonne says:

    PS Spellcheck would not notice that , anyhow …

    1. I. Greenwald says:

      I did not find the spelling error, but another blogger did…yvonne of…….https://ytaba36.wordpress.com/…….did find it for me.

  4. I find everything about this piece very powerful!! From the words to the image… Loved it!

Leave a Reply

