Travel Find Thursday – Jerusalem Mill Village, Maryland

Jerusalem Mill Village,

located on the north bank of Little Gunpowder Falls

is about 25 miles northeast of Baltimore, Maryland.

jm27 jm25jm33 jm40

The Mill

jm30 jm1 jm3 jm5 jm6jm35

jm11 jm7 jm8 jm10

My only regret is that we were here “Out of Season” and on a weekday.  On weekends “In Season” there are volunteers dressed in period costume.  That would be wonderful to see.

 The Village

jm14 jm15 jm16 jm18 jm17 jm20 jm21 jm31jm36I hope you enjoyed the tour. 

13 Comments Add yours

  1. lbeth1950 says:

    I need to see this!

  2. What a great tour. It looks sort of like Old Sturbridge Village in my neck of the woods. Is it a place you would go back to on season?

    1. Yes….I would love to see this with people working and walking around in period.

      1. I love places like this when they are alive with the activity of Colonial America.

  3. la_lasciata says:

    I BLOODY DID !!! – thanks heaps, Iris ! As you know, this is my favourite era in American history; and it’s the first time I’ve seen what a village looked like in the time of the revolutionary war.
    More, please !

    1. Unfortunately this region is a two day drive east of me, so it won’t be any time soon. I DO plan to go back though.

      1. la_lasciata says:

        I will stoop to accept ANYTHING from the 18th century …

  4. Patrizia M. says:

    Molto bello questo villaggio, sicuramente è molto bello farci un viaggetto!!
    Ciao, Patrizia

  5. orples says:

    I love the fact that some of these historical old places are kept alive and are maintained for the public to enjoy. It looks like this old mill is well loved and respected. Thanks for sharing, Iris. I love the multiple dormers in the roof of this wonderful old building.

    1. Yes and all the work is done by volunteers

  6. hbs1991 says:

    Amazing Iris, while I don’t live close, I don’t live that far away from this place about 3-4 hours probably, and never knew or heard about it, Loved your post~!

  7. There is so much odd stuff in USA. Jerusalem mill, what a cool name.

  8. mukhamani says:

    Your photos have brought the place alive, thank you:)

Leave a Reply

