Dad’s Cornbread Oyster Turkey Stuffing

Every culture has a food that it is known for.  When you think America and Fall do you think Thanksgiving and turkey?  I do.

With Thanksgiving only 3 weeks away, I thought I would post the recipe for our family’s recipe for Oyster Stuffing.  This is my father’s recipe.  Now that I am older and he is long gone, I wish I had asked him where he learned to make this delicious treat.  Hindsight is 20/20.

turk

The turkey in the photo is from Thanksgiving 2013

I like to bake my stuffing inside the turkey because the stuffing will absorb the turkey juices adding a LOT of flavor.

2 cans of oysters with juice
12 cups stale bread
4 cups stale cornbread
2 large onions, chopped coarse
4 cups celery, chopped coarse
2 cups water, may need more or less
1 stick butter
2 tablespoon poultry seasoning
1 ½ teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon pepper

Melt butter in large heavy skillet. Sauté onion and celery until crispy-tender. Season with salt and pepper. In a very large bowl, mix together bread, cornbread and poultry seasoning. Pour celery onion mixture over top. Mix, then pour oysters and oyster water from can over top. Squish oysters with fingers and thoroughly mix into bread mixture. Start adding water a half cup at a time while mixing with hands, until stuffing reaches the desired consistency. For stuffing that will go inside the turkey it should be wet enough to barely hold together when you make a ball about the size of a snowball.  If baking outside of the turkey it should be a little wetter.

Either stuff turkey or put in casserole baking dish and bake. If baked in casserole, cover with aluminum wrap and bake for 30 to 45 minutes at 350 degrees.  If baking inside the turkey, follow baking directions for stuffed turkey.  An 11 pound turkey takes about 3 hours at 325 degrees.  You can be sure your turkey is done when a meat thermometer reaches 165 degrees in the turkey breast and also 165 degrees in the center of the stuffing when left in for 5 minutes.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. We just have turkey at Christmas but I like the idea of families coming together to celebrate Thanksgiving. 😀

    1. thanks, it so much IS 🙂

  2. Maya says:

    Sounds good and looks wonderful!

  3. hbs1991 says:

    You know what good eating is! We always have Oyster Dressing in our turkey, it is the absolute best, we do not use cornbread, we use fresh bread cut up! This post makes my mouth water!

    1. Thank you for visiting my blog Mitchell. It’s nice to meet another fan of oyster dressing. A lot of people turn their nose at it. I’m glad you commented because your blog had fallen off my radar. I’m glad that I now have the chance to catch up 🙂

Leave a Reply

